Contact Us : Login : Logout

91st Scottish Congress Exhibition

Return to Main Congress page

91st Scottish Annual Congress

22nd - 23rd April 2022 at the Dewars Centre, Perth

Hosts: Perth Philatelic Society

The 91st Congress was held by the Association of Scottish Philatelic Societies in the Dewars Centre, Perth during the 22nd and 23rd April 2022 where Perth Philatelic Society were the host society for the two days, and Rev. J. Colin Caskie presided as President.

THis event was originally scheduled to have been held in 2020 which would have been the 75th Anniversary of Perth Philatelic Society, but with the impact of Covid-19 it was cancelled and now held this year. As hosts for the event Perth Philatelic Society have produced a Cover, Postcard and a Miniature Sheet to mark the event.

Click on any of the following images to enlarge them on a seperate tab or page.


The cover marks the 75th anniversary in 2020 and celebrates the 250th anniversary in 2021 of the opening of Perth Bridge. The historic bridge was designed by John Smeaton (1724-1792) and was opened in 1771.


The commemorative postcard shows a range of Perth's 18th and 19th century postmarks..


24 dealers of postage stamps, postal history and accessories attended the exhibition from all over the UK.

There were 166 frames of exhibits on display, both competitive and non-competitive:
46 Competitive frames
60 Frames from the Host Society
11 Frames of exhibits from other societies
10 Frames for the Tom Rielly Display and
11 frames for the new Alan Watson Memorial Competition

In addition there were 27 entries for the Junior one-sheet competition.

The winner of the Alan Watson Memorial Competion, which is judged by those members of the public who attended the exhibition, was Jean Osborne with her entry of "Laxatives of the Plant World".

Tom Rielly Display:

On Friday night the Tom Rielly display was given by Norman Watson of Perth Philatelic Society with a display entitled 'Big is Beautiful - Philatelic Displays in A3'.
Details of the display can be found in the Tom Rielly section of the website or by clicking here.

Civic Reception & Congress Dinner:

Following the Tom Rielly display a civic reception hosted by Lord Provost Councillor Dennis Melloy was held in the Dewars Centre which was very well attended.

A Civic reception was provided by the Provost of Perth Á Kinross Council which was then followed by the Congress Dinner. A thoroughly entertaining after dinner speech was given by our Guest of Honour, Lord Kinnoul and the evening was rounded off when the Scottish Congress competition winners were awarded their trophies, which was followed by the awards of Association honours for services to philately.
The trophy winners can be viewed on the palmares pages of the website or by clicking here.

Association Awards:

Award of Merit:

This year the Association presented an Award of Merit to Elizabeth Nairn of the Caledonian Philatelic Society for her promotion of Philately throughout Scotland.

Election of New President:

At the AGM held on Saturday 23rd April delegates elected Francis Podger FRPSL from Dundee & District Philatelic Society to become President of ASPS and Bruce Walker from Aberdeen Philatelic Society as the new Vice President.
Below is a picture of outgoing President Colin Caskie (on the left) handing over the chain of office to Francis Podger FRPSL.

This page was last modified on 21st August 2022

Copyright (c) 2016-2024 Association of Scottish Philatelic Societies.
The documents on this website are for informational and non-commercial or personal use only.