Contact Us : Login : Logout

Scottish Congress / National Exhibition

90th Annual Congress

12-13th April 2019 at the Dewars Centre, Perth

Hosts: Largs & District Stamp Club

The 90th Congress was held by the Association of Scottish Philatelic Societies in Perth during the 12th and 13th April where Largs & District Stamp Club were the host society for the two days, and Robert Watt presided as President.

Northern National Exhibition

A full ABPS National Exhibition was also held in Perth to coincide with the Scottish Congress for the first time since 2012, and in total over 280 frames of exhibits wete on display. Exhibits could be entered in all classes recognised by the ABPS and all exhibitors from the UK and abroad were welcome to enter.

As hosts for the event Largs & District Stamp Club produced a Cover, Postcard and a Miniature Sheet to mark the event.

Click on any of the following images to enlarge them on a seperate tab or page.


The design commemorates James Watt (1736 - 1819), born in Greenock, the inventor of the document copier.


The front features William Fife Jnr (1857 - 1944), and the yacht Latifa. The family firm operated from a shipyard initially on the beach at Fairlie. Durinmg his life he designed over 600 yachts.

Miniature Sheet:

A set of 9 labels commemorating William Fife III and depicting some of the yachts built at Fairlie shipyards.

Tom Rielly Display:

On Friday night the Tom Rielly display was given by Jean Osborne of Falkirk Stamp & Postcard Club.
Details of the display can be found in the Tom Rielly section of the website or by clicking here.

Civic Reception & Congress Dinner:

Following the Tom Rielly display a civic reception hosted by Lord Provost Councillor Dennis Melloy was held in the Dewars Centre which was very well attended.

Following the civic reception the Congress Dinner was held which was then followed by the award ceremony. The Scottish Congress competition winners were awarded their trophies and this was followed by the awards of Association honours for services to philately.
The trophy winners can be viewed on the palmares pages of the website or by clicking here.

A full pdf list of ABPS Northern National Exhibition awards can be found by clicking here.

The ABPS National Exhibition best in show award was also presented to Stephen Parkin for his Postal History display of "Edinburgh 1839-1929:

Association Awards:

Book of Scottish Philately:

This year the association awarded its highest honour to Francis Podger FRPSL from the Dundee & District Philatelic Society for his advancement and promotion of the study of Revenue stamps.

McConnell Medal:

The association presented the McConnell Medal to Willie King of Largs & District Stamp Club for his many years service to Scottish Philately.

Award of Merit:

This year there were two recipients of an ASPS Award of Merit, Ron Goodfellow from Dundee & District Philatelic Society and Sandie Robb, the ASPS Development Officer.

Election of New President:

At the AGM held on Saturday 13st April delegates elected Colin Caskie from Perth Philatelic Society to become President of ASPS and Douglas Irving from Kirkcudbright Philatlic Society as the new Vice President.
Below is a picture of outgoing President Robert Watt (on the right) handing over the chain of office to Colin Caskie.

Future Congresses

Congress Host(s) Dates
92 Kirkcudbright Philatelic Society 16-17th April 2021
93 TBA 22-23rd April 2022
94 Dundee & District Philatelic Society tbc April 2023
97 Caledonian Philatelic Society tbc April 2026
99 Scottish Postal History Society tbc April 2028

This page was last modified on 14th September 2020

Copyright (c) 2016-2020 Association of Scottish Philatelic Societies.
The documents on this website are for informational and non-commercial or personal use only.