Contact Us : Login : Logout

88th Scottish Congress Exhibition

Return to Main Congress page

88th Scottish Annual Congress

21st - 22nd April 2017 at the Dewars Centre, Perth

Hosts: Lanarkshire Philatelic Society

The 88th Congress was held by the Association of Scottish Philatelic Societies in Perth during the 21st and 22nd April where Lanarkshire Philatelic Society were the host society for the two days, and Alan Wishart presided as President.

As hosts for the event Lanarkshire Philatelic Society have produced a Cover and a Postcard to mark the event.

Click on any of the following images to enlarge them on a seperate tab or page.


The theme for the Congress cover commemorates the Cameronians Regiment in 1917.


The Congress postcard was Lanarkshire postmarks.

Congress Cancellation:

In agreement with Royal Mail a congress cancellation will be produced and this is shown above.

An example of the Congress cover complete with cancellation is shown below.


35 dealers of postage stamps, postal history and accessories attended the exhibition from all over the UK.

There were 152 frames of exhibits on display, both competitive and non-competitive:
60 Competitive frames for both the ASPS Competitions.
60 Frames from the Host Society
10 Frames of exhibits from other societies
10 Frames for the Tom Rielly Display and
12 frames for the Open competition

In addition there was 1 frame of competitve entries for the Junior Competition ALBA Salver and 1 entry for the Junior One-page Competition. The winner for both competitions was Lachlan Philby.

Post & Go:

Royal Mail yet again supplied two of their Post & Go machines, kiosks A012 and A014, for the event and a Congress overprint was available from both machines.
'88th Scottish
Congress 2017'

Kiosk A012 printed the Thistle (from the Symbolic Flowers Set) and the Machin.

Kiosk A014 printed the Thistle (from the Symbolic Flowers Set) and the Heraldic Lion.

There were Guest Kiosk or Smiler Sheets available

Tom Rielly Display:

On Friday night the Tom Rielly display was given by Dr. Brian Dow.
Details of the display can be found in the Tom Rielly section of the website or by clicking here.

Civic Reception & Congress Dinner:

Following the Tom Rielly display a civic reception was provided by the Lady Provost of Perth & Kinross Council, Liz Grant, which was then followed by the Congress Dinner. A thoroughly entertaining after dinner speech was given by our Guest of Honour, Major Ian Farquharson of the Cameronians Regiment, and the evening was rounded off when the Scottish Congress competition winners were awarded their trophies, which was followed by the awards of Association honours for services to philately.
The trophy winners can be viewed on the palmares pages of the website or by clicking here.

Association Awards:

McConnell Medal:

The McConnell Medal was awarded to Alan Watson for his long standing service to philately at both club, society and National level. Alan received his medal from Alan Wishart, president of ASPS. Below is a picture of Alan Watson receiving his McConnell Medal from President Alan Wishart.

Award of Merit:

The recipient of an ASPS Award of Merit this year was Alexander McCulloch from Kirkcudbright P.S.

Election of New President:

At the AGM held on Saturday 22nd April delegates elected Richard Cuthbertson from Scottish P.S. to be President of ASPS and Robert Watt from Largs & District Stamp Club as the new Vice President.
Below is a picture of outgoing President Alan Wishart (on the right) handing over the chain of office to Richard Cuthbertson.

This page was last modified on 21st August 2022

Copyright (c) 2016-2024 Association of Scottish Philatelic Societies.
The documents on this website are for informational and non-commercial or personal use only.