Contact Us : Login : Logout

86th Scottish Congress Exhibition

Return to Main Congress page

86th Scottish Annual Congress

17th - 18th April 2015 at the Dewars Centre, Perth

Hosts: Falkirk & District Philatelic Society

The 86th Congress was held by the Association of Scottish Philatelic Societies in Perth during the 17th and 18th April where Falkirk & District Philatelic Society were the host society for the two days, and Jean Osborne presided as President.

As hosts for the event Falkirk & District Philatelic Society have produced a Cover to mark the event.

Click on any of the following images to enlarge them on a seperate tab or page.


The group decided that the cover would depict Callendar House which is located in Falkirk.


The postcard would also depict Callendar House.

Congress Cancellation:

In agreement with Royal Mail a congress cancellation was produced and this is shown above.


36 dealers of postage stamps, postal history and accessories attended the exhibition from all over the UK.

There were 146 frames of exhibits on display, both competitive and non-competitive:
44 Competitive frames for both the ASPS Competitions.
60 Frames from the Host Society
26 Frames of exhibits from other societies
10 Frames for the Tom Rielly Display and
6 frames for the Open competition

In addition there were 3 frames of competitve entries for the Junior Competition ALBA Salver with the winner being Morven Montgomery and 1 entry for the Junior One-page Competition, the winner being Andrew Balingall.

Post & Go:

Royal Mail yet again supplied two of their Post & Go machines, kiosks A006 and A008, for the event and a Congress overprint was available from both machines.
'86th Scottish
Congress 2015'

Jersey Philatelic Bureau also attended the event for the second time and supplied one of their Post & Go machines, JE01, for the event.
Jersey also produced the overprint on both their Jersey Flag but not on their Protected Species Collectors Strips.

Invited Collections:

As part of the Congress Douglas N Muir, Senior Curator, Philately from the British Postal Museum & Archive was invited to provide a display.

Tom Rielly Display:

On Friday night the Tom Rielly display was given by Willie King from Largs & District Stamp & Postcard Club.
Details of the display can be found in the Tom Rielly section of the website or by clicking here.

Civic Reception & Congress Dinner:

Following the Tom Rielly display a civic reception was provided by the Lady Provost of Perth & Kinross Council (Liz Grant) which was then followed by the Congress Dinner. A thoroughly entertaining after dinner speech was given by our Guest of Honour, Dr. Tony Pollard, and the evening was rounded off when the Scottish Congress competition winners were awarded their trophies, which was followed by the awards of Association honours for services to philately.
The trophy winners can be viewed on the palmares pages of the website or by clicking here.

Association Awards:

Book of Scottish Philately:

Dr. Stewart Gardiner FRPSL has been invited to sign the Book in recognition of his bibliographical work and in particular, his contribution to the advancement of Cinderella philately as designer, producer, publisher and co-compiler of "A General Illustrated Catalogue of Exhibition and Event Poster Stamps to 1914".

Award of Merit:

There were three recipients of an ASPS Award of Merit this year.
Edith and Alfred Thorp from Kirkcudbright Philatelic Society, and
Mavis Pavey from Germany and Colonies Philatelic Society.

Election of New President:

At the AGM held on Saturday 18th April delegates elected Paul McGowan from Caledonian P.S. to be President of ASPS and Alan Wishart from Lanarkshire P.S. as the new Vice President.
Below is a picture of outgoing President Jean Osborne handing over the chain of office to Paul McGowan.

This page was last modified on 21st August 2022

Copyright (c) 2016-2024 Association of Scottish Philatelic Societies.
The documents on this website are for informational and non-commercial or personal use only.