Contact Us : Login : Logout

87th Scottish Congress / National Exhibition

84th Annual Congress

19-20th April 2013 at the Dewars Centre, Perth

Hosts: ALBA Stamp Group

The 84th Congress held by the Association of Scottish Philatelic Societies was held in Perth during the 19th and 20th April where ALBA Stamp Group played host for the two days, and Mike Turnbull presided as President.

As hosts for the event ALBA Stamp Group produced a Cover and a Postcard to mark the event.


The group decided that as this Congress coincided with the centenary of the opening of Edinburgh Zoo then both a cover and a postcard celebrating this event would be appropriate.


The postcard would celebrate The King James Authorised Bible depicting a selection of common phrases from the bible in use today.

Congress Cancellation:

In agreement with Royal Mail a congress cancellation was produced.

Post & Go:

For the first time in Scotland Royal Mail supplied two of their Post & Go machines, kiosks A3 and A4, for the event and a Congress overprint was available from both machines.
'84th Scottish
Congress 2013'

Tom Rielly Display:

On Friday night the Tom Rielly display was given by Robin Sherman who is a past President of the Scottish P.S., The Edinburgh P.S. and the Lothian Postcard Club.
Details of the display can be found in the Tom Rielly section of the website or by clicking here.

Civic Reception & Congress Dinner:

Following the Tom Rielly display a civic reception hosted by Lady Provost Liz Grant was held in the Dewars Centre which was very well attended.

Following the civic reception the Congress Dinner was held which was then followed by the award ceremony. The National Exhibition competition winners were awarded their trophies and this was followed by the awards of Association honours for services to philately.
The trophy winners can be viewed on the palmares pages of the website.

Award of Merit:

There were three recipients of an ASPS Award of Merit this year.
Eric Mason from Scottish P.S., Alan Blakeley from Caledonian P.S. and Brian Dow from ALBA Stamp Group.

Election of New President:

At the AGM held on Saturday 20th April delegates elected Dr. David Kindley from the Scottish Postal History Society to be President of ASPS and Jean Osborne from Flakirk & District P.S. as the new Vice President.

This page was last modified on 14th September 2020

Copyright (c) 2016-2020 Association of Scottish Philatelic Societies.
The documents on this website are for informational and non-commercial or personal use only.